Buy the Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod) on http://www.aerogardenstore.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod) image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: AeroGrow
Located in: 20
Specially designed for the AeroGarden 3 line of AeroGardens. Grow beautiful fresh flowers all year in the AeroGarden 3.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good variety(8), Limited maintenance(9), No mess(10), Plants grow quickly(7)
Best Uses:
City living(8), Large kitchen(4), Small kitchens(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cook(4), Casual cook(6)
 
splash of color seed kit
By SOJVerified Reviewer from burbank, ca on 10/17/2010
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess
Cons:
Plants Go Bad Quickly
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

Plants grew as expected. How exciting! Then I started noticing brown spots at the end of the leaves. Thought lamp was too close and/or this was a natural process. I trimmed and raised lamp. Eventually, the brown spots took over all the plants and the plants stopped growing altogether. So sad to watch them die. I tried refreshing the water per troubleshooting guidelines x 2 and nothing helped. It must be something I did because my friend's 3-pod splash of color is "blooming like crazy" (except for the mimulus which seems common). Although disappointed, I will try again! Would still recommend to others since I've bought Aerogardens as gifts and they seem to have no issues.

 
Only got two out of thee
By RadiofanVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 9/9/2010
Pros:
No Mess
Best Uses:
City Living
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

The Mimulus plants never grew beyond the initial stage even though I trimmed the other plants for weeks to make sure they got direct light. The other flowers look good, and have filled in the space where the Mimulus still sits.

I imagine the full set looks great if one can get all the plants to grow.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your AeroGarden product review regarding our seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.
 
Best Investment for Me!
By Teardrops to JoyVerified Purchaser from Lander, WY on 4/10/2010
Pros:
Best germinator, Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Bathroom, Bedroom, City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

I bought the 7-pod unit for growing salad greens. I have lots of greens for my lunch sandwiches! Fresh cut and tasty every day. I have the ladybug 3-pod for flowers on my kitchen table. They are a constant source of fresh fragrant flowers to dress my table with. I just purchased the Puppy 3-pod and have it placed in my living room, growing flowers as well. I find the atmosphere of the light this unit gives off to be especially cozy! It is close enough to my recliner that I can read by its light. It is my first experience ever seeing a mimulus to my knowledge and I am really excited to see this garden present its first blooms. I particularly like using Aerogardens for germinating small seeds. I tend to bury them too deep and they have difficulty getting started under my inexperienced thumb! My first batch of herbal strawberries came from my Aerogarden!! I tried for 4 years to get those tiny seeds to germinate and it just never happened under my own thumb!! I was able to transplant the healthy plants into a patio pot and now I have strawberries and herbal strawberry tea from the leaves every year. It has truly been the best investment for me. . .a brown thumber!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great conversaion piece
By DaxeVerified Purchaser from New York on 3/9/2010
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

I am a structure engineer working from a home office in upstate NY, I have many clients that come in to my home office in which I have my aero grow garden and there has not been one person who has not remarked on how unique it is and how its design complements other furnishing in the room along with the pretty flowers that are growing, no one ever leaves without asking where to get one which I am happy to give them the website.

 
Second Time Around
By CharKVerified Purchaser from Rio Rancho, NM on 1/16/2010
Pros:
Colorful display, Good Variety, Plants Grow Quickly
Best Uses:
Indoor flowers
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

The first flower garden gave us so much pleasure that I purchased a second Color Spot combination.
The second one has different flowers so it will be fun anticipating their growth and display especially in the dead of Winter.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very colorful indeed!
By CTMomVerified Reviewer from New England on 12/17/2009
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, No Mess
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Office, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

I got the Aerogarden 3 specifically to grow flowers in my office in the winter. I have a 7-pod garden in my kitchen & I love it for fresh herbs so I didn't want to give up my herbs in the winter. ANYWAY, I got the Splash of Color pod kit for my first adventure into flowers & it's been very interesting. I waited to write a review until things had been blooming for a bit (I planted the flowers 10/6/09).

I've seen other reviewers say that the mimulus doesn't bloom- I haven't had that experience. It was definitely my slowest starter & is still the smallest plant but it was my first bloomer! It's still going strong; the secret is to trim the leaves from the other two plants to make sure they don't shade it from the light. It's getting taller & continuing to bloom. My only complaint about the mimulus is that as pretty as the blooms are, they don't last very long- 2 days tops. Then they wilt & are pretty unattractive so they need to be tended to & removed. On the upside, removing the dead blooms seems to help this little guy keep growing & blooming ,so...

The marigold is the biggest & bloomiest (is that a word?) of the bunch. LOTS of blooms which last for about a week or so per bloom- it's budding like crazy! My kids love this one the best. It started growing days after I started the pods & has been going like gangbusters since. It was my second bloomer, & keeps the garden bright because the mimulus, while beautiful, doesn't produce as often.

The geranium has the biggest leaves, but 2 months in, not a single bloom yet! I keep looking for anything that resembles a bud & so far, nothing. I'm hopeful that it will, eventually do something. But so far, nada. Still it looks nice & green which is wonderful when it's 7 degrees outside & everything is deary and covered in snow. Still, I'd like some flowers on that one...

Anyway, I do enjoy this seed kit, though I'll probably pick individual flowers next time around. Good luck!

 
Product is great!
By LCVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 11/19/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

This kit is really simple and easy. Just maintain water and nutrients and you really don't have to do anything else. Geranium is huge and beautiful and is my favorite.

 
Great project for AG3
By corinne from camb,ma on 8/24/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess
Best Uses:
City Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

Another pretty and easy kit to grow in the AG3.
See if you can get one without the mimulus seeds though..several have had trouble with that flower maturing and being successful.
I would get this kit again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love my AeroGrow Mini
By JudyVerified Purchaser from Savage, MD on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly
Best Uses:
Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

I got my Aerogrow Mini for Mothers day with miniature roses and had great fun watching it grow and flower. When that was done I got the Splash of Color seed kit. Of the three varieties, the marigolds are doing the best. I think the Gladiola is on the verge of flowering (although foliage-wise this one is the most prolific), but the Mimulus got off to a slow start and has not caught up, if I am disappointed in anything it would be this plant. I love this product for its ability to bring a little color and fun into my busy life. I don't have time to keep a garden, but the aerogarden is virtually maintenance-free which makes it ideal for me. If you're thinking of flowers, I'd go with something that doesn't include the mimulus.I am also extremely pleased with customer service. When I first got my aerogarden there were some technical difficulties. One very courteously received phone call and my problems were solved. A+ for customer service after the sale!

 
Great for work !
By FlowergerlVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 12/6/2008
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, Plants Grow Quickly
Cons:
Limited Variety
Best Uses:
Office
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

Bought this for this office to help get me thru the winter. People come by DAILY to check and see if it's growing. My only complaint is both times I've used it only 2 of the 3 pods come up, but all in all I LOVE this small version for work.

 
the herb's are great
By airhead gardenerVerified Purchaser from Gainesville, Fla on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

herb's,flower's and pepper's they are great i have two black and silver.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good but not Great
By Julie from Wallingford, PA on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Good Variety, No Mess
Cons:
Long Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Splash of Color Seed Kit (3-Pod):

I have two full size (7 pod) aero gardens that I adore and this one 3 pod smaller variety that I got for flowers in the kitchen.
My problem with it is that unlike the larger ones, it doesn't have the controls, light settings, resets, etc. It is a much simpler construction so I think you can do less with it. I LOVE my larger units and will buy more of them but I wouldn't recommend such a small one because of the lack of features of the bigger ones.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 AeroGrow All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.