Buy the Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod) on http://www.aerogardenstore.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod) image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: AeroGrow
Located in: 20
Specially designed for the AeroGarden 6 and SpaceSaver 6 line of AeroGardens.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good variety(15), Limited maintenance(17), Long harvest period(14), No mess(14), Plants grow quickly(17)
Best Uses:
City living(7), Large kitchen(8), Small kitchens(12)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cook(5), Casual cook(12)
 
A great Christmas gift from my daughter!
By Canuck cook.Verified Reviewer from Nova Scotia, Canada on 8/12/2010
Pros:
Attractive focal point, Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess
Cons:
Plants Go Bad Quickly
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

How nice it is to have fresh herbs even in the winter time. I shall definitely repeat the herbs! But first I must try some peppers. Then some flowers.
Then some....oh, dear. I think I need another one.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fresh & Easy!
By Creative KenVerified Reviewer from Henderson / Las Vegas, NV on 3/16/2010
Pros:
Good Variety, Hearty basil mint dill, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Cons:
Slightly overpriced, Weak thyme chives oregano
Best Uses:
Avid cooks, City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

An appealing and convenient variety of herbs made available to be freshly snipped when needed; The basil, mint and dill grew very heartily; The thyme, chives and oregano were much less robust; All germinated quickly; Would like to see continued expansion of seed combination kits;

 
Well-Rounded Set
By JessVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 2/27/2010
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I received the Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod) as a birthday gift, and have been very pleased with the herbs performance. There is a good variety of herbs in the kit, the only thing I'd rather have included would be cilantro. Otherwise, it's perfect!

 
Fantastic
By curlycutie21Verified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/10/2010
Pros:
Fresh, Good Variety, Long Harvest Period, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

Great product! It was my first seed kit (first time using Aerogarden). It was super easy to set up and use. The plants grew quick and it was fun to watch them grow (I know, what???). Using them in a variety of things (dill on your scrambled eggs!), had fun trying new things.
After a while, you eventually have so much herbs, you honestly don't know what to do with them.

Images shared by: curlycutie21

Growing, probably about 2 weeks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mixed Results
By AK CooksVerified Reviewer from Anchorage, AK on 1/3/2010
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

Our AeroGarden and this seed kit were a gift from a good friend. We are now on our fifth cycle, and I've done some mix-and-matching with good success from other herb seed kits. Here's what I've found about about the combination in this kit: (1) the thyme is too spindly and gets lost under the basil and other plants, (2) the chives are pathetic, (3) the dill grows so quickly that it soon requires raising the hood so much that the shorter plants appear strained in reaching for the light. Much as I love using chives in my cooking, I have concluded that it is not possible to grow enough chives from one pod to make that a worthwhile use of AeroGarden space: garnish for one meal and they're back to 2" in height. Also, I haven't yet figured out a trim-and-harvest schedule for the dill that will help the plants bush out, even though I carefully followed the instructions in the herb guide. On a positive note: the mint does quite well, the basil flourishes -- goes nuts, in fact. We love all the basil that one pod produces. Wow!

 
Fresh Herbs in Any Season
By Kate in the KitchenVerified Reviewer from Reno, NV on 9/15/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Long Harvest Period, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

It's great to have something fresh for every meal, whether I've had time to shop or not.
This pack has a perfect variety.

 
Touch of freshness in your kitchen
By Cookin in the KitchenVerified Reviewer from Oilville, Va on 9/14/2009
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I found that if the fresh spices were at hand, I was more likely to experiment
not only with seasoning dishes, but using them in butter blends. It was fun!

 
I was surprised how much fun it was
By EdVerified Reviewer from Eustis, FL on 6/11/2009
Pros:
Easy to use and maintain, Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Living Room, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

It adds a new and not so intimidating element to growing plants which make more fun to do. ( and Addictive ) I have 3 neigbors that are addicted to !

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Science Lesson
By Kimberly & Logan from Waynesburg, PA on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

Well, let me tell you that this was a great Science lesson for my 9 year old son. We started the pods, watched every day, and ended up with delicious tasting herbs. He was checking this daily and to our surprise, the herbs were coming through, and we took the dome off, and they started to grow. After a few weeks, he could see a plant arising from the pod. He daily checked the water level and knew when the red light came on, it was time to feed the plants. His maintenance of the Aerorgarden amazed me. It was a great lesson for him, because we usually grow our plants in a garden outdoors, and he now knows that plants can be grown in an Aerogarden with water and flourish.
My added opinion to this is that the herbs that we grew are very tasty, and we planted them in pots outside. Just be sure that you don't damage the roots when you transplant. Please don't pull out the herbs through the plastic cone, cut off very carefully the plastic cone. They should mention this in your manual, but you can read this online. I will be ordering more pods to grow more herbs.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Got tons of Herbs, especially the Basil
By Brian FitzVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 5/31/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I bought the Space Saver 6 for my roommate for a Christmas present because he is always buying Herbs from the grocery store to cook with. (he's the chef, I order pizza and nuke TV dinners). Well when I saw the price he was paying for those little bags of Herbs, I decided to get him the Aerogarden 6/with Gourmet Herbs.
Well they started sprouting in two days and in two weeks he was putting some of them in a Spagetti sauce and it tasted great. He's made dozen's of different kinds of dishes that taste so much better with these fresh herbs in them.
Well its been 6 months now and he's transplanted the Basil and the Chives to some outdoor pots and they are still doing great.
He has also used up every piece of Tupperware we have to store his herbs in,(about 20, plus butter tubs, etc.) so I have been borrowing some from my girlfriend to use for leftovers.
I would bet that he has at least 5 lbs of Basil stored, that stuff grew/is still outside, like it was on steriods. He had to keep pruning it to keep it from blocking out the light for the other Herbs.
And now since everything from the Gourmet Herb Seed Kit grew so good, I'm getting ready to order (My roommate says he's got plenty of Herbs for the Summer) some lettuce for salad's right now, mainly because when I buy it at the store it goes bad before I can eat a whole head and those bags wilt after a couple of days of opening them and I end up throwing half away, they're expensive too.
I'm also going to be buying another Aerogarden for myself so I can grow tomato's.
He made some great dressing with the herbs and some oil and vinegar too...like 12 bottles full.

 
Wonderful Herbal Experience
By SharonVerified Reviewer from Laveen, AZ on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I love the fresh growing herbs. Easy to use and maintain. The larger varieties outgrew the smaller herbs. I should have pruned more. They make my kitchen smell good. I ordered more nutrients and have had basil and dill for 5 months.

 
"I love it"
By ????Verified Reviewer from Downingtown, PA on 5/20/2009
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Cons:
Limited Variety
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I love the different varieties! I just want there to be other herbs like thai basil instead of just the gevenosis basil for the aerogarden 6 series.

 
Grows fast, gives food that extra spark
By EllenVerified Reviewer from Middletown, NY on 5/17/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I can't say enough about this seed kit. All the pods sprouted when they were supposed to and grew quickly. Frequent pruning not only gave me a daily supply of fresh herbs, but also allowed me a harvest season of over seven months.

 
I would buy again
By brown thumb from tennessee on 4/5/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

I've had a hard time in the past growing herbs in my kitchen, but this makes the water and light so easy, it is hard to go wrong. Next I am going to move the herbs outside for the summer and try the lettuce!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Constant Fresh Herbs
By Trina, Retired MarineVerified Reviewer from Sunnyside of Louisville, KY on 3/8/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Cons:
Some plants grow too fast
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

The one thing I can consistently grow is herbs. Everything else.. hit or miss, but I try. Herbs are what I excell at. Every year I dry the herbs that I've grown outside. But, fresh is always better.
One thing about this is that you have to watch the basil. I knew they could run rampant outside, but forgot that. It got so big it was blocking the light to the rest of the herbs! I let it get strong and pinched it back several times so I could lower the hood for the rest. Now... the mint is going crazy.

 
Best Christmas present ever!
By Herb HappyVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, Wisconsin on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

It is so much fun to watch the herbs grow. They are still a little small for harvesting, but all of them germinated just fine. I can't wait to cook with them. I set it up in 20 minutes and the "keeping your garden healthy" and the "harvesting your garden" instruction books are great! I've turned on many of my friends to this winter alternative to gardening in Wisconsin. This is a great gift for elderly relatives who can no longer tend their own outdoor garden.

 
Great product
By K-fwiss from Santa Cruz, CA on 1/23/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

Great product, produces fast and plentiful.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disappointing
By PAMARKVerified Reviewer from CADIZ, KY on 1/22/2009
Pros:
Limited Maintenance, No Mess
Cons:
Plants Go Bad Quickly
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

disappointed about the product alittle. All plants did not come up but when they did, they were not of good quality. But the ones that did come up they were beautiful. A lot of fun.

AeroGrow Response: We guarantee germination on all of our seed kits. Please contact us at customerservice@aerogrow.com and we’ll be glad to send you a new seed pod(s).

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]fantastic herbs.
By Deer WatcherVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, WA. on 1/8/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (6-Pod):

The dill did not come up, but I called and got a replacement for[...]. The rest were quick to come up and right on time according to the information that came on each herb. They have been producing wildly for two months with no sign of slowing down. The flavor is wonderful and we are having fun experimenting with new recipes using the fresh herbs. This a great winter treat that is so much fun to watch and eat.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 AeroGrow All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.