Buy the Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens) on http://www.aerogardenstore.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens) image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: AeroGrow
Located in: 20
Grow full-sized heirloom tomatoes with summer fresh off the vine flavor.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.2 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good variety(3), Limited maintenance(3), Long harvest period(3), No mess(3), Plants grow quickly(7)
Cons:
High maintenance(5), Long grow time(3)
Best Uses:
City living(4), Large kitchen(8), Small kitchens(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cook(3), Casual cook(8)
 
Heirloom Tomatoes
By JennVerified Reviewer from Northwestern Ontario, Canada on 9/5/2010
Pros:
Tastes Great
Cons:
High Maintenance, Long Grow Time, Messy, Plants Go Bad Quickly
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I was disappointed with these plants. They grew nicely, I pruned them well and pollinated and there were lots of flowers. However, when the tomatoes started to grow the plants started to die. I followed all directions exactly, but I think these plants had a blight. As they were ripening the plants were brown and mostly dead. I had to ripen the last ones off the vine as the plants were dead. Will not buy these seeds again.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your AeroGarden product review regarding our seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.
 
Healthy & delicious addition to any room
By PattyVerified Reviewer from Angelica, NY on 8/24/2010
Pros:
Full spectrum lighting, Limited Maintenance, Lush greenery in winter, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Cons:
Water a variable
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

Started seed pods on my birthday, February 22, when snow covers everything green and was delighted by the lush growth. I usually refuse to prune plants but this project demanded pruning every other day to keep it from becoming a tomato tree. Lots of blossoms. Polination needs kept observation skills focused on new buds. Tomatoes are not large but deliciously rewarding. The full spectrum lighting was welcome to keep Seasonal Affective Disorders from our kitchen. Three bright lights provide very cheerful area and I love the timer...we began using the light cycle as our frame of reference for when "the tomato went to bed before we did."

Images shared by: Patty

blossoms in clusters

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
very disappointing
By goodgalVerified Reviewer from Bainbridge, PA on 8/17/2010
Best Uses:
Better to get mega cherry
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

took long time to germinate, and even with heavy pruning was way to tall for pro 200. Did not fruit. Waste of my money.

 
Wouldn't buy again
By Teresa from Washington on 7/30/2010
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I tried growing these twice. Neither plant grew any tomatoes. Both times the plant grew tall and bloomed very few flowers. I hand-pollinated the few flowers there were but nothing ever happened. The plant died out a couple of months later.

I had much better luck with the cherry tomatoes.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your AeroGarden product review regarding our seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The taste is worth the wait!
By TimVerified Reviewer from Lima, OH on 7/23/2010
Pros:
Good Variety, Long Harvest Period, Tastes Great
Cons:
Long Grow Time, Messy
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

The Ruby Heirloom is unlike any tomato that I have ever grown. Its wiry branches present a challenge in keeping the plants pruned and pollinated. They want to grow EVERYWHERE! I harvested approximately 40% of the total amount of flowers that were produced (approx. 10 tomatoes per plant). The taste is UNBELIEVABLY great. After approximately 7 months inside, I moved the plants to the outside (dirt) when our Ohio weather permitted it. It is now July and I just picked 2 fully grown heirlooms this afternoon. Still budding, still growing and they LOVE the transplant to the outdoors. This type of tomato cannot be purchased in the stores and I have been unable to find the plants anywhere except Aerogrow. I hope this variety remains available forever. I replaced the bulbs, restarted the garden and just started on a new heirloom garden for this winter. PLANT EARLY as harvest takes up to 5 months or better. Don't get discouraged. Continue to experiment and look forward to the reward of harvesting these absolutely delicious tomatos!

 
Disappointed with Heirlooms
By Mary B.Verified Reviewer from Ft. Lauderdale FL on 7/2/2010
Pros:
No soil or pesticides
Cons:
High Maintenance, Limited and small produce
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I received the 7-pod deluxe unit with 2 seed pods for Christmas. One plant failed to thrive. From the description I was expecting full-sized (as in grocery stores) heirloom tomatoes, but when I contacted customer service, I was told the tomatoes would be few and only slightly larger than the mega-cherry tomatoes. For the effort required and final harvest, the heirloom tomatoes are not for me! I'll try herbs next and, hopefully, have better luck.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your product review regarding our AeroGarden’s seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.
 
Flower pollination a challenge
By Mark from Carmel, Indiana on 6/28/2010
Pros:
Plants Grow Quickly
Cons:
High Maintenance, Low yield
Best Uses:
City Living
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I planted the Heirloom tomatoes last October in a VeggiePro with was impressed with the very rapid growth. Flowers set on late November, but no fruit was produced for several more months. In the meantime I received advice from Aerogrow on how to improve upon the self-pollenation procedures in the instructions. Although that did help, my plants only produced 8 mature tomatoes during 8 months of vigorous plant growth. During the last six weeks of plant growth many tomatoes did start, but the plants died before they ripened. From my observations I believe the following to be the most important steps to start from the beginning: consistent and daily pollination by electric toothbrush or finger flicking, frequent water changes if water is 'hard', and increased feeding.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your product review regarding our AeroGarden’s seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not the be all and end all of tomatoes
By CanadiangirlinMontanaVerified Reviewer from Bozeman on 6/28/2010
Pros:
Long Harvest Period, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Cons:
High Maintenance, Limited production, Unruly growth
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

It is so hard to get real tomatoes in Montana, so I was very excited when these "full size" heirlooms became available for areogardens.

First the pros: The plants grew fast and full. They produced lots of flowers and the fruit is very firm and full bodied.

The cons: I followed the trimming guidelines to the letter. Still the plants tend to spread very rapidly outside the growlights and what remains is very unruly and difficult to manage. Also when fruit sets, the branches become heavy and there is only so much room on the arm to tape them to, for additional support. This is true even when using two trellis coils per plant. Although there were lots of flowers, only a few produced tomatoes - I constantly gently shook the plants and even hand pollinated! Also I would not call the tomates full size but more of a super mega cherry. Finaly the nutrients ran out just as the fruit was setting.

I will buy again because in MT our growing season is only 90 days at best, so homegrow tomatoes are a real treat. They are an absolute luxery in the winter! Next time, I'll only plant one at a time and plant in the center of the areogarden (instead of at the side). Finally, I be sure to have plenty of liquid nutrients on hand to extend the season.

 
I would not buy this product again.
By buddyVerified Reviewer from Harveys Lake Pa on 5/28/2010
Cons:
Long Grow Time, Plants Go Bad Quickly
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I did not get any tomatos - plant died.

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your product review regarding our AeroGarden’s seed kits. Our 100% germination guarantee means that all pods in our Seed Kits are guaranteed to germinate. If one of your Seed Pods did not sprout within the time listed on the Seed Pod label, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-476-9669 and one of our agents will be glad to order you a replacement pod.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.
 
Christmas Present
By NancyVerified Reviewer from Clinton BC, Canada on 3/8/2010
Pros:
No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly
Best Uses:
City Living, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

I received this product for Christmas and planted 1 Heirloom tomato christmas day. I have 3 tomatos on it now with plenty of flowers waiting to turn to tomatos. The plant is healthy, thriving but requires at least 1 extra watering inbetween cycled periods. This is a fun, entertaining and hopefully tasty product!

Images shared by: Nancy

10 weeks- 3 tomatos on plant

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes not for beginners
By AeroedVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2010
Pros:
Plants Grow Quickly
Cons:
High Maintenance
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

This kit is my first venture into growing tomatoes and I have to say it's been a bumpy ride. The plants grew quickly, but I had problems with wilting and flowers not turning into tomatoes. With some help from AeroGrow customer service and several posts on an AeroGarden message board, I was able to solve my wilting problem. I'm still waiting for tomatoes to grow. This seed kit may require you to purchase additional hydroponics tools like an EC/TDS meter and pH tester. Not for beginners and very high maintenance.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
So far, so good
By DianeVerified Reviewer from Cathlamet, WA on 1/16/2010
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, No Mess, Organic, Plants Grow Quickly
Best Uses:
Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

Plants have grown very fast, and are healthy. The first blossom opened today, with many more buds ready to 'pop', in spite of the necessity to prune much more than is required outside. I'm (im)patiently waiting for the first ripe tomato. It's so much fun having healthy veggie plants in the middle of winter.

[12 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
This help me on these Tomatoes
By KathyVerified Reviewer from Port Orange / Daytona Beach Fla on 7/21/2009
Pros:
Good Variety, Limited Maintenance, Long Harvest Period, No Mess, Plants Grow Quickly, Tastes Great
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

These Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes grow real fast if they are in the pro 200. Now this is what happen to me they were growing so fast they were burning my leaves so fast and the stems were so tiny. I was moving the hood up all most every day and they were not even one month old. So this is what I did. I had to cut the burn leaves off and then I took out the middle light out of the pro 200 lower the hood again and now they are growing nice and not burning and the stems are stonger. There are no tomatoes as of yet too soon for them but when I do get them I will send another note and tell everyone how they are. And if I did put the light back in as well. Keep Smiling Happy Gardeners.

Images shared by: Kathy

Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

[11 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Best Taste
By vhfvhfVerified Reviewer from Hixson, TN on 7/3/2009

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

You can't buy heirloom tomatoes, so grow your own. You won't believe the taste difference over store bought tomatoes. This kit produces abundant fruit. You'll be hooked.

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Taste History
By vhfvhfVerified Reviewer from Hixson, TN on 6/6/2009

Comments about AeroGrow Ruby Heirloom Tomatoes (6-Pod or 7-Pod tall gardens):

The flavor is hard to describe but you'll know these aren't grocery store tomatoes. So good you'll consider them a snack!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 AeroGrow All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.