Buy the Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod) on http://www.aerogardenstore.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod) image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: AeroGrow
Located in: 31
Start up to 70 seedlings indoors in an AeroGarden, then easily transplant them into your outdoor garden.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive design(10), Easy to use(24), Enhances kit(16), Quality construction(14), Shortens grow time(21)
Best Uses:
City living(10), Growing herbs(13), Growing veggies(18), Large kitchen(4), Small kitchens(9)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cook(14), Casual cook(5), Gourmet chef(5)
 
Can't wait to get started!
By DotbobVerified Purchaser from Lenoir City, TN on 1/29/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
Confusing
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Heirloom tomatoes, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I gave this product 4 stars instead of 5 because I'm confused as to why the product description says you can grow up to 70 starts and shows a full 70 seedlings, but the one I received only has 66 holes with a blank space in the center. Otherwise I'm excited about starting most of my 2009 plants in my aerogarden.

 
Excellent product
By Deb the avid gardenerVerified Reviewer from Hailey, ID on 1/24/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

Can't wait to plant this season. This will give me a head start I never had before

 
The best leek starter ever!
By Greenhorn gardenerVerified Purchaser from Fairbanks, Alaska on 1/11/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Quality Construction
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

The climate of interior Alaska makes it hard to start seeds for plants that need a two or three month head start before they can be set in the ground outdoors. Leeks, especially, are hard to start because if started too close to each other the long, loong roots intertwine. This garden starter tray takes care of both problems---a controlled climate and close planting where the roots are easy to separate at transplant time. My only complaint is that this works so well that I want two or three more Aerogrows that can be dedicated just to seed starting!

 
A head start for market,Great!
By CygannVerified Purchaser from Springfield, MO on 1/10/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

Takes up so much less space than the huge garden trays, and it gets growing so much faster. This is saving so much time to get started for the Farmers Market with our backyard growers business.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get a jump on your spring flowers!
By Hummingbird HavenVerified Purchaser from Charleston, SC on 1/9/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Get a jump on spring
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I started my spring seedlings at the end of December, much earlier than recommended on the seed packages.

The seed packages said germination would likely occur in 14-21 days. Mine occured in THREE!!

Three weeks later, some are even ready to transplant to small pots to await spring planting in my hanging baskets and flower beds!

I will have blooms in spring to attract the hummingbirds!!

Images shared by: Hummingbird Haven

After only three weeks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

 
Starter Tray
By gardenprincessVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 1/8/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
Unattractive Design
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

This tray will get me off to a great gardening season this spring, and save me quite a bit of money, I purchased seeds at a fraction of what mature plants would have cost me!

 
Great for gardeners!
By GizmoVerified Purchaser from Murphy, TX on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I love this product as it allows me to begin so many plants at the end of winter so that the plants are ready to plant as spring begins. Planting early gives my plants the best chance of success as summers are scorching here in Texas.

My seeds (several years old) germinated more quickly than the packet indicated and were very healthy. When planted outside in seed starting soil, they experienced no transplant shock at all and thrived with normal watering.

I'll be using 2 of these this spring to fill my new large bed, all the existing flower beds, as well as my raised vegetable beds.

 
Haven't used it yet
By DetasmanVerified Purchaser from MD on 12/29/2008
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

My wife plans to use this in the spring.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Definitely something I will buy again.
By EdVerified Purchaser from Meridianville, Alabama on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

We used this to start a large number of Korean Peppers that my wife uses in her cooking. She was skeptical when I first got it, but this past growing season her pepper plants were the best ever. She especially liked being able to take the root pod from the tray and plant them right in the ground. This is really a great product.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great
By C loves to cookVerified Purchaser from Evansville, IN on 11/15/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

So easy to use.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Serious improvement over seed trays
By GardenMuseVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 11/14/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Much better success rate, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I have tried to start seeds for years with no success. I was very pleased with this tool. At first I was disappointed that it was made of styrofoam, but my husband pointed out that it was heavier syrofoam and would be durable. I started both my spring and summer seedlings using this insert, and was very pleased with the results. I was even able to start alpine strawberries using this tool. I have already purchased refill plugs for this spring and am looking forward to using this tool again.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Addition to my AeroGarden
By Brandy the Brown ThumbVerified Purchaser from Allen, TX on 11/11/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Starting Gardens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I love this starter tray. I've never been able to start seeds in any other "starter kit" and have them live. This makes it easy to do. I've started all my seeds for the spring. As soon as they are big enough to transplant (maybe another few weeks), I'm going to move them into peat pots so I have room to start my summer garden, and so on and so on. The instructions were easy to follow, and my seeds (foxglove, petunia, aster) sprouted and are growing at a healthy pace. Thanks AeroGarden!!!

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Helpful Accessory!
By GardenMuseVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Very effective
Cons:
Made of styrofoam
Best Uses:
Better Seed Starting, City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I am very happy with this item. For years, I could not successfully start seeds for my vegetable bed indoors. This winter, I bought this insert and used it to start my spring crop of cabbages, lettuce and broccoli, then used it to start my summer crop of tomatoes, eggplants, peppers and more. Almost all of the plants transplanted with no trouble at all. Artichokes did not transplant well, but everything else from strawberries to herbs to carrots worked well. Be careful not to start the summer plants too soon because they grow very quickly in the Aerogarden and you don't want them to be overgrown when you transplant them after the last frost.

The only thing I don't like about the seed starter tray is that it is made of strofoam, and I am concerned that it will probably break after a few years. I would prefer something in a more durable material.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
It does what it says it does
By AnokVerified Purchaser from Pomona, CA on 9/10/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Give plants healthy start, Growing Herbs
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

It does what it's advertised to do. Whatever it says on the germination rate on the seed packet is is what you will get, so the starter tray itself has a 100% success rate as far as I am concerned. It also gives your seedlings a healthy start before transplanting outdors.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Design!
By ChauncieVerified Purchaser from Hugo, Minnesota, USA on 8/31/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies, Short Growing Season, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

It looks wonderful. How exciting to open the box and see all the holes. By March I will have them full of my usual veggies. My tomatoes seedlings did so well just sitting next to my aerogrow last winter, imagine how lovely they will be for planting next year! Great idea. Thank you.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Garden Seedling Starter
By MarkVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 8/11/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time, Speeds Seed Germination
Cons:
Refills are Expensive
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I use two of these, both to start next growing season vegetables, carrots, cabbage, lettuce, onions, peppers, tomatoes, celery, beans.

Fantastic to start herbs out healthy, lavender, oregano, parsley, thyme, chives, cilantro...

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for my climate
By mama aunt janVerified Purchaser from lv, nv on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

Living in the desert southwest, you really have a couple growing seasons, spring and fall. The starter kit can get my plant going and ready to plant outdoors when conditions are optimal.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it! Will use again!
By PolarVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I bought this kit for my Aerogarden Classic and used it to start my summer container garden. The kit was very easy to use and maintain and the included instructions were invaluable! I used this kit to start peppers, heirloom tomatoes, oregano, onions, broccoli, and parsley. Everything not only survived, it thrived! I am currently harvesting from all of them! I will definitely use it again next year to start my outdoor plants.

Images shared by: Polar

4 weeks of growth

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Garden Starter Tray Fulfills Promise
By TwinklesVerified Purchaser from Aurora, MO on 7/13/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I bought an Aerogrow for my husband for Christmas a couple of years ago. We both love it. The new starter tray enhances our gardening experience. He uses it to start herbs, plants and flowers for our yard, garden and greenhouse. We are really enjoying it. Thanks, Aerogrow, for introducing the new starter tray.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just Planted Vegetables From the Tray
By azzoVerified Purchaser from Detroit, MI on 7/12/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Professional Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I used about half of the pods to start tomatoes, peppers,and cucumbers for containers to have a second crop going into early fall. Seedlings did well with little effort, and I will definitely be purchasing replacement pods to start all of my vegetables next season.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
21st Century Gardening
By JosieVerified Purchaser from Providence county, Rhode Island on 7/9/2008
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

My mother had a green thumb. I couldn't grow a weed if i tried. But now I am so proud of myself as I have grown herbs, vegetables and now flowers. This is the best product EVER.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Seed Starting Is Finally Made Easy
By LLLofPAVerified Purchaser from Duncannon, PA on 7/9/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Less Messy, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens, Starting Flowers
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

After I had a lot of problems this spring starting my flower seeds in peat pots, I purchased a starter tray for my AeroGarden and was amazed at how fast the flowers grew. I planted a few herbs along with the flowers and they also thrived. Needless to say I'm giving away my leftover peat pots and starter soil, because growing flowers hydroponically is so much easier and reliable. My zinnias were flowering in the seed tray before it was even time to plant them outside. You do have to be very careful when planting your seeds to factor which types of flowers grow the fastest, because you can run into problems if large clusters of leaves shade smaller plants. To help with this, the next time I will try growing the different varieties in vertical rows under the lights rather than horizontal rows, because I feel the lighting will be more even. For transplanting, I was pleased that the roots did not tangle and readily popped out of the tray. Some kinds of flowers do seem to grow better with this type of system than others, but I had at least a 90% success rate, which is much higher than I had using other methods. I would recommend the starter tray even for beginning gardeners, as it is very easy to use and you will be fascinated watching how quickly the plants grow. For advanced gardeners it has to be the best way to grow unusual flower varieties from garden catalogs, ones that make visitors ask "Where did you ever find this flower?"

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful way to start a garden!!
By aldeneVerified Purchaser from va on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
Moisture attracts bugs
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

I love this. My entire garden this year started in the garden starter tray. It made growing cheaper (only had to buy seeds not plants) and much much faster. I will be using this every year for my garden!! The only issue I had with it was the seed pods stayed so moist that it attracted fruit flies to lay their eggs. This was only a problem for the smaller plants, and not the larger ones however.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME way to start your own seed
By DottieVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton ,Florida on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
No cons
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

grow all kinds of flowers, herbs, Veggies this is the awesome tool for any gardner, I LOVE mine

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I will buy this product again
By gumbyVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, Arizona on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

This product performed even better than I thought it could, my flower seeds germinated in less than three days.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Product
By Purc the GardenerVerified Purchaser from Flushing, MI on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (7-Pod):

The tomato plants I have started in the aerogarden are growing hog wild in my garden. It really was an excellent method to start my seeds.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 AeroGrow All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.