Buy the Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens) on http://www.aerogardenstore.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens) image
 
(based on 31 ratings)
Brand: AeroGrow
Located in: 31
Start up to 66 seedlings indoors in an AeroGarden, then easily transplant them into your outdoor garden.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 31 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(4), Easy to use(17), Enhances kit(6), Shortens grow time(9), Well built / quality(5)
Best Uses:
City living(6), Growing herbs(8), Growing veggies(9)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cook(5), Casual cook(4), Gourmet chef(4)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fool proof seed starting
By FayeVerified Reviewer from Birmingham, AL on 6/11/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Preforms very well
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I bought this for my aerogarden 7, after I tried starting my herb, vegetable, and flower seeds with a system I already had. It had worked before, but was a disaster this year. With the starter tray, all of my seeds germinated and very quickly produced nice hardy seedlings. I had no trouble with damping off, or loss of seedlings. I even got some seeds that are difficult to sprout to grow. I'm sticking with this for my seed starting from now on!

 
First time success!
By macVerified Reviewer from chicago, IL on 5/25/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Success
Best Uses:
Starting plants
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

This is the first time I have had success in starting my own seeds to transplant outdoors. It allowed me to plant some heirloom tomatoes and start my own flowers. I have tried before, but failed each time until this! It's easy and foolproof. A few of my seeds didn't germinate, but I think they were old. i couldn't believe how many tomato plants I now have!

 
Amazing!
By Sunny from Juneau on 5/12/2010
Pros:
Easy to transplant after, Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Start sensitive plants
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

We live in Alaska and starting spring seeds takes a lot of room inside your house. This starter kit was great. We started: cucumbers, broccoli, radishes, beets and beans in the same kit following the instructions. The hardest part was "mapping" the seeds so the largest leaf ones were on the outside and germination times. Once planted all you have to worry about is changing the water every two weeks and putting in nutrients. The best part is pulling the little plugs of veggies and transplanting them. A novice plant person or master gardener could both use this and be a success!

 
Starting seeds! Never been easier
By DeeVerified Reviewer from Mt Airy, MD on 5/10/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Starting plants from seed for outdoors has never been easier! 100% germinated, seeds started to sprout in 2 to 5 days. When it was warm enough we transplated strong healthy plants to the outdoors.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I still can't believe it!
By Bargainlady with green thumb!Verified Reviewer from Burlington, N.C. on 4/13/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Hardening off was a breez, Quality Construction, Seedlings were so strong, Shortens Grow Time, This is the only way to g
Cons:
Cons No Cons
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Veggies, Put into my study
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I grew my seedlings using two forms=the aerogarden and the "disk" that swells up and sprouts a seedling. Aerogarden tomato seedlings were strong and healthy. I lost most of my tomato seedlings using the other method because they were so "leggy" and weren't healthy at all. And.....I thought I was doing good with the "old" system all those years and was I losing out before I discovered this Aerogarden seed starter!
I'll never use any other method again! This is the ONLY WAY to grow seedlings!

 
Two for one
By [@]Verified Reviewer from Mid Columbia, Wa on 4/7/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Cheery light, Easy To Use, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
Instructions poor
Best Uses:
City Living
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Depressed due to lack of sunlight. The full spectrum grow light cheers ones soul with great light. But most of all great herbs grow besides.
I have never seen such luxuriant parsley in my life. The basil is great also.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loved it but unavailable refills
By Happy gardenerVerified Reviewer from Maryland on 4/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I loved the smaller space required to use my aerogrow for seed-starting last year. Unfortunately, I have been waiting MONTHS for the refill peat plugs to be sent this year which I ordered. [...] Well, it's already past the window to start most of my seeds. So I'm about to cancel my order and dig out my monstruous grow light. I am disappointed that I paid what I did last year for this since I only got to use it once. Funny that they're advertising the entire kit but they don't have the refills available. I'd be careful about ordering this product if you plan on using it more than once. [...]

AeroGrow Response: Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your AeroGarden product review regarding our out of stock issue.
As the pioneering company in a new industry we are finding that we are navigating in new territory. Sometimes the positive response to one of our products proves so overwhelming that demand temporarily exceeds supply. As an example: even our wildest forecast for the Garden Starter Tray was off by 5 times your demand! In addition to refining our ability to forecast accurately, we are trying to balance customer satisfaction (having products always available) with good business practices (maintaining a lean inventory). We hope you will bear with us as we try to get all this right. We are working hard at improving our ability to get you the product you want when you want it, as well as creating a system to automatically notify you by email of backordered items.

Sincerely,
AeroGrow International, Inc.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
quick sprouting time
By JennVerified Reviewer from Burlington, IA on 3/9/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Wow, had sprouting seeds in 1 day. Family loved watching all of the growth. My 4th aerogarden. Strong seedlings transplanted and all doing well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am hooked!
By ConcordgrapeVerified Reviewer from Waukegan, IL on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

As a long term, serious gardener, I have found my garden starter to be invaluable for starting my (previously) hard-to-germinate seeds. I am now successfully growing flowers I have been unable to germinate and/or keep alive in past years.

When the plants are ready for transplant,they pop out of the tray easily. I then replace them with more flower seeds, or soon, with my veggie seeds.

I will probably purchase another AG6 with a garden starter for next year's garden, and I am looking forward to purchasing a garden starter for my SS6 as well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Every seed germinated!
By Plant WhispererVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 2/25/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I've used this product for a few years now. I have 100% germination success on all the seeds I've tried: flowers, veges and herbs. Some seeds germinate faster than others so one must be patient. One of these starter trays pays for itself a few times over when compared to buying flats in the store.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very easy to use
By JenVerified Reviewer from Ft Worth, TX on 2/22/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Shortens Grow Time
Cons:
Unattractive Design
Best Uses:
Growing Veggies, Large Kitchens, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Love this thing. Allows you to start 66 seedlings. You don't have to start them all at once. Peppers and eggplants go in 9 weeks before planting (7 weeks before last frost), tomatoes 3 weeks later, herbs 2 weeks after that, and cukes, zukes and melons 2 weeks after that. Easy peasy. Make sure you've got a big ziploc bag at home to put the plugs in that you're not starting right away. And you'll need something to cover any empty holes. I'm just using a piece of cardboard. Happy planting!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best seed starter I have ever tried!
By janatsandyshores from WI on 1/1/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Enhances Kit, Quality Construction, Shortens Grow Time
Best Uses:
Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

This was the best purchase I have made for my aerogarden. I planted all the plugs and had 100% germination...I put two seeds in each plug and snipped the extra one off.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Why did I wait so long to buy it?
By JTVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 11/28/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy To Use, Quality Construction
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Large Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I grow herbs that I use almost everyday. It is fabulous. My wife commented last night about how tasty the halibut was and said...wow I love that dill (straight from my aerogarden. That dinner also contained thyme and oregano from my garden.
The fact that I have an ongoing live herb garden on my kitchen, means I always have 80-90% of the herbs that I normally use in cooking.
And, just like outdoor gardening, there is nothing better than being able to reach for FRESH produce, in my case Herbs, to enhance the flavor of a dish.
At first my wife was skeptical about how it would look in the kitchen, but the design and the side benefit of a kitchen night light has most definitely won her over.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beyond Handy!
By vhfvhfVerified Reviewer from Hixson, TN on 9/20/2009

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Starting seedlings for outdoors has never been easier! You get healthy, strong babies to plant! There's no fussing, either. This really is economical.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
First time success
By Em the quilterVerified Reviewer from Detroit on 8/31/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
City Living, Growing Herbs, Growing Veggies, Small Kitchens
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cook
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

My first experience with the AeroGarden was with the Garden Starter Tray last spring. My backyard garden is now full of the tomatoes, peppers, greens and even cantalopes that I transplanted after only 6 weeks. What an awesome way to start my plants.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love my AreoGardens
By midgeesmaVerified Reviewer from Florida on 7/9/2009
Pros:
Easy Fun Great results
Cons:
Don't have enough of them
Best Uses:
Herbs Flowers Tomatoes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

When I first moved to Florida, I just couldn't get used to what time of year to plant what. It was terrible. Everything failed. Planting times are backwards. I still can't get it right!
Now I don't have to worry about it. I use my AreoGardens year round!!
It's so easy to use, everything is provided to make a great garden. You don't even have to remember when to add nutrients & water. When the light flashes you know it's time to add.
I love the stands you can buy. I bought a double stand. It make it look like terraced gardens. They look so pretty!
The only thing I don't like about it...the kits cost so much.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Money Saver!
By CharVerified Reviewer from Central Iowa on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Easy to clean, Easy to use
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Give as Wedding Gift, Give to college grad, Started Heritage Peppers, Started Heritage Tomatoes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I bought my AreoGarden Feb 2008 and started my first Gourmet Herb Seed Kit (7-Pod). I keep a detailed dairy of when each type of seed emerged. This way I can start the slower emerging seeds first when I start my next Herb Garden. In Jan 2009 I purchased the Garden Starter Tray I started Heritage tomatoes and peppers seeds. I was very pleased with the results. The only problem in hardening the plants off was dealing with a windy spring and not even AeroGarden can control that. I found the 'garden' very easy to clean. Whether it was the two week cleaning of the herb garden or cleaning for storage. I enjoyed starting my own plants that I plan to buy another 'Garden' to be able to start flower seeds too. I may even buy a third one and get the 3-shelf Wall Garden. I REALLY LIKE MY AEROGARDEN

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The ONLY way to grow veggies in Alaska!
By BorderbumbleVerified Reviewer from Kenai, Alaska on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Easy to use, No greenhouse needed, Seeds germinate quickly
Cons:
Fed Ex is expensive, Flat Rate Priority Best
Best Uses:
Did I say tomatoes, Great for heirloom seeds, Tomatoes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I have to container garden everything, so being able to get everything ready when the sun gets warm enough (June for starters), but we do get that sun all night long. A really good start for a tomato makes ALL the difference.[...]

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great sprouting% and strong seedlings!
By SixwingVerified Reviewer from Durango, CO on 4/30/2009
Pros:
Germination, Sprouting, Transplanting
Cons:
Setup
Best Uses:
germination, Sprouting, Transplanting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

This is a great product for starting long-growing plants in an area with a short growing season. Though it was not easy to set up (tray floats, sponges are very small for some seeds), more seeds sprouted than I expected, and they sprouted quickly (packet says 30 days, they were up in 5.) All of the seedlings survived transplanting to soil. I have bought a refill kit and will be doing this again!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Yay awesome!
By SmartyPantiesVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas on 4/28/2009
Pros:
Easy to use
Best Uses:
Starting veggie gardens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I was a little aprehensive when I first opened this as I did not realize that it was simply a foam tray. However, once I planted my seeds (a lengthy process since I had to make a lot of the holes bigger for my corn to fit)...voila! The corn grew literally 3 inches in a week and everything else is starting to sprout as well. I hope it is easy to take out the seedlings.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my Areo Garden
By Madame Diva Gwen from McKinney, Texas on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Growing my own herbs
Cons:
I only have one
Best Uses:
Cooking
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

If you want the freshest herbs in your meals this is it! Gosh, we sometimes just grab a bag of chips and start topping off the chips with a piece of basil, parsley or whatever grabs you. Add a little salsa, cheese or what ever you may have in the fridge, so much fun. Friends love it when they come over, I always have them pick the herbs that I need for the meal I am preparing. They love that. I only wish I could afford to buy 3 more.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
SOOOO easy to start your veggie garden!
By VickiVerified Reviewer from Hobbs, NM USA on 4/16/2009
Pros:
Convenient, Easy Set Up
Best Uses:
Tomatoes Peppers starts
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

100% germination rate. My plants are almost 18" tall and ready to transplant after only 8 weeks. None of my seedlings survived last year using traditional methods. I will suggest that if you are starting tomatoes and peppers - start the peppers a few weeks before the tomatoes and use the deluxe aerogarden for the height. Some of my tomatoes started to burn so I had to transplant quickly.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lady Bug, Lady Bug,Fly her to YOUR home
By shortbreadVerified Reviewer from Loveland CO on 4/7/2009
Pros:
A Perfect Gift, Cute and sassy, Easy to set up and use, Lights up the kitchen, The cd is great
Best Uses:
As a gift, A treat for a friend, Brighten a small space, Teach eco activities
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

This was a gift to a mentally challenged adult who found it easy to set up, a delight to see and a prompt to use herbs in his salads. It was an immediate hit! Thank you.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
garden starter cleans up messy bay windo
By Georgeanne from Centereach,NY on 3/31/2009
Pros:
Auto watering, Ez 2 transplant, No cat in plants, No dirty bay window, Not having dirty messy s, Not having messy seed pod
Cons:
Cant bi strtr insrts, Yet foam is 4 ever
Best Uses:
Herbs in winter, Veg garden plants
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

if u sell seed kits locally: where in L.I.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Garden Starter Top Notch
By WakeUpMaggyVerified Reviewer from Western Colorado on 3/28/2009
Pros:
Easy to plant in garden, Grew like weeds, Seed sprouted immediately
Cons:
Refills expensive
Best Uses:
Lettuce early seeds
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Harder to grow seeds seem to love this. Not worth the expense for easy things like cilantro and basil. Making my own refills with netting from peat disks. Refills should be less than $19.99.
Already had to replace pump and a light, after this I'm done with Aero Grow, got three cherry tomatoes from that kit and it's not worth the money in these times.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Garden starter tray... Love them
By DeNiseVerified Reviewer from Grants Pass OR on 3/27/2009
Pros:
So easy
Best Uses:
Veggie garden starts
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Last year I started my tomatoes, peppers and a few other assorted garden veggies. It was so nice not to worry about the temp. water, light. It was all done for me. I can't wait to start them this yr.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Seed Starting in Aerogarden
By Lil SmurfyVerified Reviewer from Millfield OH on 3/5/2009
Pros:
Near 100 germination, Rapid germination
Cons:
Refills on long backorder
Best Uses:
Starting annuals, Starting perennials
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Amazed at how rapidly seeds have germinated, many within 2 days!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is simply amazing!
By piersvVerified Reviewer from Bayonne, NJ on 3/4/2009
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

I've used this for two years now. I grow most of my plants from seed, and I grow many batches using stacked grow lights and a number of sources of seedling soils, etc. But nothing beats the success rate with this tray! High germination, no legginess, no damping down. It is especially good for rare seeds (so long as they are a decent size. Highly recommended. Perfect for vegetables such as tomatoes or pepper plants, when you want something substantial to plant out as soon as last frost is over. Perfect way to hit the catalogues and avoid the 'two varieties only' offerings of the Garden Centers.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best use of Aerogarden
By RadrenaVerified Reviewer from St Augustine, Florida on 3/4/2009
Best Uses:
Seedlings, Seed starter, Starting Seeds
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

The best use of the Aerogarden is seed starting. This seed starter kit out produced all other methods I have used. I had 100% of my seeds come up using the Aerogarden. I will not start seeds any other way again. The only negative is the cost. The replacment plugs are expensive. It would be nice if the cost was 1/2 of the current price of[$]. I believe this would be a fair price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than the soil greenhouses
By jlightfritzVerified Reviewer from Washington State on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Convience, No Mess, Quick to fill
Best Uses:
Seed starting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

Love this product! Every year I do a garden with my daycare kids and you never know what is actually going to germinate. We've always used the traditional soil mini greenhouses. This is the first time we've used the seed sprouting tray. The kids loved filling the mini pods and they look at it everyday to see if anything has sprouted yet (mind you we just planted the seeds a few days ago). We started pumpkins, watermelon, corn, sunflowers, and trailing pansies. The mini pods just pop right out and you plant them in soil.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent way to start outside garden
By artist from Silver Spring, Md on 2/16/2009
Pros:
Easiest and quickest way, High germination rate
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about AeroGrow Garden Starter Tray (For 6-Pod & 7-Pod AeroGardens):

other than some flowers, the best way to populate my garden

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 AeroGrow All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.